Skip to content

Coconut Curry on Cauliflower Rice

August 3, 2011

Back before I discovered paleo I was a big fan of curry dishes on rice. My old diet consisted of a lot of rice and pastas. I have to say that my vegetable replacements of cauliflower and spaghetti squash are so amazing, that I don’t even miss the old crappy grains. I like this dish in the fall/winter on a cold day. But hey! It’s easy and good anytime ;)

Ingredients:

Brocolli – chopped

Carrots – chopped

Onion-  diced

Bell Pepper- chopped

Chicken Breast

1 can of coconut milk

1-2 tbsp coconut oil

Curry powder to taste (or use Thai Kitchen curry paste)

Head of cauliflower

1-2 cups chicken broth

Salt and pepper to taste

First I cut up the chicken breast into bit sized chunks, which would also help it cook faster. I also chopped up a small cooking onion. I sauteed the meat in a couple of tablespoons of coconut oil, adding the onions once the chicken was mostly cooked. I then added my spices – curry powder, pepper, garlic powder and a bit of cumin. Alternatively you can use Thai Kitchen curry pastes). Once the onions became translucent I added  the broccoli and carrots. I covered the skillet and let this mix steam for a few minutes. I then added 1 can of coconut milk, and no longer used the lid of the skillet so that any excess water would steam off and the mixture would thicken a bit. I then stirred in the bell peppers because they don’t take as long to cook and I don’t like soggy bell peppers! Let simmer on a super low temperature and start making the cauliflower rice.

Cauliflower rice:                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                  I pulse my clean cauliflower in my food processor and it makes super perfect texture/size rice instantly. I then place it inside my steamer/strainer and set it inside a pot. I cover the cauliflower in about 1cup of chicken broth (beef works too) and 1/2 cup of water. I bring to a boil and steam the cauliflower until it looks done. Keep an eye on the broth that it doesn’t evaporate completely. Sometimes when I serve the rice I add a loaded tsp dollop of coconut oil.

Serve the chicken/coconut mixture over top of the prepared cauliflower rice.

2 Comments
  1. Chava permalink

    Oh, man, this looks amazing. I’ll have to add the stuff I don’t have to my shopping list.

    • Thanks! It is definitely one of my “go-to” meals because it is so easy, yummy and good for you! :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 750 other followers

