Skip to content

Carrot Zucchini Bars

August 3, 2011

Over the last 15 years or so I seemed to have developed the horrible habit of skipping breakfast. When I first discovered Crossfit, The Zone and Paleo living it was one of the first of a host of important and wise nutritional advice I was given -START eating it!!! I then came to realize that breakfast didn’t have to be defined by certain “breakfast” foods. First thing in the morning I can now be found eating last night’s dinner leftovers, or other foods most people would think strange to start the day with. I now know better.

For me, breakfast has to be fast as I am usually rushed to get to work and begin completing a million of the tasks that I will never actually get caught up with 😉
I saw this recipe in an old Performance Menu issue and thought that bars would be an easy to transport snack, and decided to give them a try.

I doubled the recipe below and it fit nicely into a rectangular cake pan. I was able to make 1.5 dozen squares that are about the size of half of the palm of my hand. You could easily squeeze out 2 dozen if you wanted to make the bars a bit smaller.

2 eggs
1 cup grated carrot
1 cup grated zucchini (with skin)
grated fresh ginger to taste (or 1 tsp ground ginger)
2 tsp honey
1 cup almond meal
1/3 cup chopped pecans or walnuts
1/3 cup sultanas (raisins or currants)

* recipe didn’t call for it but I also added nutmeg and cinnamon, about 1tsp of each

Pre-heat oven to 180 celcius or 350 Fahrenheit. In a large mixing bowl, whisk eggs together and then add all of the other ingredients, mixing well. Place mixture in a baking dish, lined with parchment paper and firmly (and evenly) pack the mixture down. Place in the oven for 10-25min, or until set. Leave to cool, then cut into as many bar-sized pieces as you like.

Pretty simple. Very yummy 🙂

10 Comments
  1. Rachelle permalink

    Sounds like a yummy recipe! If my grocery store doesn’t carry almond meal what would you suggest as a substitute?

    • cyndiesel permalink

      I make my own almond meal. I just pulse some whole almonds in my food processor until they are a flour consistency. Coconut flour is becoming more mainstream and is another option. I have seen it at a couple of standard grocery stores.

  2. Darcy Konieczny permalink

    Do left over bars need to be refridgerated?

  3. These turned out very mushy, despite cooking for 20 minutes. Has anyone tried increasing the amount of almond flour or adding coconut flour to make a more stable bar?

    • cyndiesel permalink

      I spent a significant amount of time squeezing out excess liquid from the zucchini and carrots by squeezing them in a cheesecloth. Mine did not turn out mushy at all. Don’t see why you couldn’t add more coconut/almond flour. If you try it let me know how it turns out.

Trackbacks & Pingbacks

  1. Paleo Menu: Snack Ideas —
  2. 6 Paleo Breakfast Bars to Start Your Day Right | Paleo Grubs
  3. List of the Best Paleo Snacks of 2015 (15 You Can Buy + 27 You Can Make)

Leave a Reply

