Skip to content

Communing With Nature

August 3, 2011


Sunday, June 26, 2011

Today I went on a Strengthbox field trip 😉 We were supporting Dr. Bryce Wylde (of CP24s Wylde on Health) who has committed to climb the highest peak in Africa, Mount Kilimanjaro, July 10-21st, to raise funds and awareness for mental health. All proceeds are to go to Markham Stouffville Hospital (MSH) Foundation for a new expansion of a Child and Adolescent Mental Health Clinic. So with a noble cause in our hearts, we met at Taylor Creek for what would end up being a 2 hour Movnat/Parkour adventure.

I was a little worried I was going to be the one holding back the group today – it was a group of seriously fit people… but what was amazing was the sense of team work and cooperation that everyone was giving off, I didn’t think about it once during the run. Today was filled with running on trails, precision jumping across benches and rocks in the creek, animal walking down steep muddy hills, climbing trees, balancing on various structures in the park, traversing across a bridge and walking up a loooooong set of stairs backwards on my hands. It was like doing walking hand stand pushups backwards.

By the end of the adventure I felt amazing but completely exhausted. It was fun doing activities that felt like physical chess – making smart decisions or risking a bit of danger (e.g. falling off a ledge or tree branch). It felt great to run – I really need to start doing more of it. Running in the trails reminded me of my days as a competitive cross country runner. Today was the perfect mix of a wide range of fun activities. I also dead lifted a VERY heavy log, climbed over a branch and practiced my grip strength hanging onto trees.

I came home starving and ready for a long soak in epsom salts! 🙂

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

