Skip to content

Light At the End of the Tunnel

August 3, 2011

Tuesday, March 29th, 2011

I wasn’t really sure what to title this entry. I feel like I could easily write 3 separate entries.

First – The Robb Wolf talk in Toronto at the Westin Harbour Hotel. It was amazing. It was a little more scientific than I was expecting, but with a Master’s Degree in Nutritional Science I had no problem keeping up with the discussion. I find it fascinating, and I am well aware and believe in the physiology/biochemistry behind how the paleo diet works. My problem is that years of exposure to gluten and other chemicals from processed foods and locked in the opiate receptors in my brain and I feel like a drug addict trying to kick the crack of junk food. I’ve made several attempts at 30 day challenges, Whole 30’s, whatever you name it, but never made the entire 30 days. I’ve had excellent success with Mon-Fri being squeaky clean and indulging on weeks. Unfortunately I think without fully experiencing the 30 days, I never really kicked the habit. That’s why eventually (usually around a holiday with friends and family who aren’t paleo) I found myself falling off the wagon and then taking sometimes months at a time to get back on. I’m now on Day 5 and things are feeling very optimistic which is why I tried to go with an optimistic title :)Robb Wolf gave me some new found inspiration to break the cycle. I want to be the 94 year old doing finger tip push-ups! 🙂

Back to Kettlebell Training:

I did today’s workout at Strengthbox which is such a great facility. Although I like my home gym and its convenience, it is just not the same! I found today’s workout particularly challenging on my grip.

GS Swing – 3min – 1 hand switch X2 sets with 1min breaks
A word on my swing – I always begin each workout with some swings. I initially thought this movement was going to be easy and I have to admit it kicks my ass. In the beginning my back couldn’t adjust to the new technique and doing what is essentially successive “good mornings” I found it would tire out really quickly. Well quickly is the word I would use to describe how my back and core have adjusted to this new style. I no longer feel like it is the limited factor – now that job has been taken over by grip. 12kg is still fairly challenging, but 8kg is too easy. Today I used 12kg.

GS Cleans – 6min – 10RPM – switch hand every min X2 sets – 1 min breaks.
I will admit I was scared to death of this part because of my horrible cleaning experiencing on Day 1 and 2 last week. Today actually felt much better, especially on my left side.

1 arm rack walks – 4 laps X 2sets – 30sec breaks
Oops! I just realized now that I messed these up 2 weeks in a row. I did overhead walks instead of rack walks! No wonder I wanted to die! I did 16kg on each arm – which when I first put in my right hand and put it overhead I didn’t think I’d make 1 lap – my lats are sooooooooooooooo sore from Friday’s workout (STILL!) that in the end it wound up feeling like a good stretch…. but doing 4 laps – which is double what I am used to was very challenging. I could barely lower the weight and drop it in a controlled way. I did 4 laps on the right, followed by 4 laps on the rest and THEN 30 sec rest before going again. Not sure if Boris would have been so nice to mean do 4 laps on the right, take 30sec and 4 laps on the left with another 30sec. My way is more evil so Boris would probably like that 🙂

Farmer Holds OK grip – 1min holds X 4sets – 30sec breaks
I took advantage of my location having a plethora of sizes to choose from to help me challenge myself on these holds compared to last time when I felt they were too easy. Although I was surprised at how challenging 16kg felt initially. For the four sets I did 16kg, 20kg, 24kg, 24kg from my loads. I was hoping to go up one more time on the last set but I was barely able to hang on for the last 5-10 seconds by the last set so I think the weights were perfect.

I’m off to have a nap!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

