Skip to content

Namaste… meh!

August 3, 2011

Tuesday, April 19th, 2011

 

Mental Note: Do not do a Bikram yoga class BEFORE a kettlebell training session.

I have been trying to work on my mobility and have decided to regularly (as in 1-2 times a week) hit a Bikram yoga class. I went today in the morning and it put me in a mellow, sleepy and relaxed funk for the rest of the afternoon. I had a late afternoon nap and had to force myself awake to go train. I video-taped the session and decided to delete it because there is nothing awesome about it… it wasn’t horrible… mostly I deleted it because I was wearing a white tank top and felt that there a was a little too much to see… but also because I did think it looked sloppy in parts and I felt embarrassed about the technical flaws. Yoga is frustrating because it is exposing so many imbalances….and rigidity! I want to be a little less rock and a little more plasticene 🙂

I am finding my range somewhere between a 12kg and 16kg bell. It feels good that the 12kg is getting easier to throw around….but the idea of a 16kg bell for 10 minutes still makes me want to cry 🙂

GS Swing – 1:1 Work/Rest ratio, 1 hand switch
2min 12kg
2min 16kg

Long Cycle: 1min rest – do one set on the right rest then another on the left cont…
1min – 12kg bell – 10rpm – 2 sets per arm
1min – 16kg bell – 10rpm – 3 sets per arm

The 3rd set at 16kg was rough. I was probably cranking out 8-9 reps. I know my hand position is still incorrect some of the time – mostly when I get tired towards the end of a set. A minute wasn’t too bad… looking ahead at the rest of my “speed” workouts I am a little worried… 🙂

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

