Skip to content

Paleo “Scalloped” Veggies

August 3, 2011

This weekend my parents were coming up for dinner. My mom loves to be the cook and doesn’t always take well to others cooking for her. For Easter dinner she insisted on preparing a ham and put me in charge of the main vegetable dish. She actually requested I make scalloped potatoes. My parents are a bit older (pushing late 70’s / early 80’s) so I know exactly what my mom expects to be eating. I have decided to try an experiment and see how well a paleo side dish goes over instead. The quest is to make something similar to scalloped potatoes. Here is what I tried:
Ingredients:
Small bag of parsnips
1.5 cups of turnip-squash
1 small sweet potato
1 small onion
Dried rosemary (fresh would work great too)
3 cloves garlic
1/4 cup olive oil
3/4 can of coconut milk
1/2 cup of almond flour

In our food processor I sliced up separately(pretty thin) parsnips, turnip-squash,1 small sweet potato and 1 small onion. I put the turnip-squash/parsnips (5 cups total)into a sealable container with olive oil, garlic, and rosemary and gave it a shake until everything was nicely coated. I then made up some almond meal and added 1/4 cup to coat all the veggies.

In a separate seal-able container I did the same thing with the sweet potatoes (approx 1.5 cups), only since there was only a small amount I added less almond meal (about 1/8th cup) and no garlic.

I then greased a caserole dish with olive oil and added to the bottom half of the turnip-squash/parsnip mix and drizzled coconut milk over top of it. The middle (next) layer was the sweet potatoes and I added the sliced onions on top of them. I drizzled more coconut milk over top. Finally the top layer added was the last of the turnip-squash/parsnip mix and a final drizzle of coconut milk. In total I used 3/4 of a can. It is now baking in the oven for approximately 60-80 minutes. The almond meal and coconut milk will make a creamy consistency like scalloped potatoes.

They turned out seriously yummy!

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

