Skip to content

Ramping It Up

August 3, 2011

Monday, April 11, 2011

So Boris has now forced my hand to take this kettlebell shit more seriously and my commitment has gone from 3 to 4 days a week. I haven’t trained 4 days a week for something in what feels like years. Boris was non-plused that I had fallen 2 days behind with the previous program but told me to move on to my next phase – a 4 week cycle training 4 days a week.
I felt unsettled at the idea of leaving something incomplete so today I could not start the new programming until I caught up by at least 1 more workout. This workout in particular needed to be completed because it contained lots of jerks. Jerking a kettle bell is a relatively new concept for me, something I haven’t done very much of at all. I feel better about getting this one in.

GS Swing – 2sets – 3 min – 1 hand switch (12kg)

1 Arm Jerks – 5min @ 10rpm – 1 hand switch (8kg)
1 Arm Jerks – 6min @ 8rpm – 1 hand switch (8kg)
1 Arm Jerks – 3min @ 6rpm – 1 hand switch (12kg)
1 Arm Jerks – 3min @ 8rpm – 1 hand switch (8kg)

The set of 6min just about killed me. That rep pace felt impossible for about the last 30 – 45seconds.

Heavy Swings – 3sets – 30 reps – 1 min(+) break
O.k. This part seriously kills me. My arms are fried (read above) and then I have to swing something heavy. I barely crank out 30 reps in the 2nd and 3rd set of these. My arms feel like they want to fall off. After the first set I took probably 2 min between sets.

So now that my training is 4 days a week I have to make a better commitment to a more regular routine. I’ve decided Mondays, Tuesdays, Thursdays and Fridays will be my kettle bell days.

Watch out.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

