Skip to content

Spaghetti Squash Al Forno

August 3, 2011

I positively LOVE spaghetti. I thought I would really miss that carb-overload when I embraced the paleo lifestyle, but ever since I discovered spaghetti squash, I honestly don’t miss it a bit!

I also love making spaghetti sauce because it is easy and makes a lot of leftovers. So one day when I was on the ball and feeling like I had some extra time I took a spaghetti squash, poked a bunch of holes in it and baked it in the oven at 300 for just over an hour. I then sliced it in half length-wise, scooped out the guts, and gently teased out the “meat” of the squash with a fork which nicely fell into strings like spaghetti noodles. I put the “meat in tupperware containers and put it in the freezer. It actually still tasted awesome when thawed and reheated.

Spaghetti Sauce
1 lb of grass-fed beef
3 tbsp olive oil
1 onion
1 green pepper
1 cup of mini-portobello mushrooms sliced
1 can diced tomatoes
1 can crushed tomatoes
1 clove garlic
Oregano
Basil

Cook the ground beef in a sauce pan with olive oil, onion, garlic in a deep dish sauce pan. When browned add oregano and basil (could be fresh or dried… I used dried). I then chopped up the green pepper and added it to the pan. I then added the mushrooms, diced tomatoes and crushed tomatoes. You can cook this on the stove or use a slow cooker. I used the stove top method and total time was about 30 minutes (includes vegetable prep).

Since I was reheating the spaghetti squash from a frozen state I reheated it in a big sauce pan and just mixed the sauce in with it. I thought it looked like an al forno style of traditional pasta which is why I called it that. I didn’t actually bake the noodles with the sauce… although I guess I could have…

This recipe serves 4, or gives me and Carl leftovers for lunch or another dinner 🙂

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

