Skip to content

Squeezing In Some Hang Time

August 3, 2011
This week has been great. Definitely more energetic and I’m feeling strong. I’ve been working on my knee mobility and really loosening up my quads and hips a little every day. My goal is to be completely comfortable sitting on my knees with my bum on my heels. Right now it makes me want to cry. I have been practicing sitting in this posture for 5 minutes at a time. I have to say it is kind of euphoric when you have the moments of forgetting about the pain and breathing into the stretch and feeling yourself make progress. It’s pretty awesome. I’ve also been squatting more for daily menial chores like teeth brushing šŸ™‚

Tuesday, July 26th
I was working at Strengthbox in the evening and managed to squeeze in this little combo between classes. I used a 16kg pro bell and used the GS snatch technique.

20 KB Snatch (10right/10left)
10 Lateral Barrier Hop Burpees (do a pushup on one side of the barrier**, jump over, do another pushup – that’s two)
18 KB Snatch
9 Lateral Barrier Hop Burpees
16 KB Snatch
8 Lateral Barrier Hop Burpees
14 KB Snatch
7 Lateral Barrier Hop Burpees
12 KB Snatch
6 Lateral Barrier Hop Burpees
10 KB Snatch
5 Lateral Barrier Hop Burpees
8 KB Snatch
4 Lateral Barrier Hop Burpees
6 KB Snatch
3 Lateral Barrier Hop Burpees
4 KB Snatch
2 Lateral Barrier Hop Burpees

What was great was that I didn’t time this. I actually thought I had, but after I finished I realized I hadn’t pressed the start button. Regardless… it doesn’t matter to me. I worked through some major laziness to get through this workout and in the end I’m glad I did. It was fun.

Wednesday, July 27, 2011
Natural Movement:
Precision Jumps and balancing
– I walked across one of the high beams on the climbing structure without any support! Next time I will try for some squats and one day some turns! šŸ™‚

Today my friend Brad who I met at the Movnat workshop was in town and came by for a visit. Brad is from Australia and was making a brief stop in Toronto before heading back home. He’s an amazing specimen and was incredible to watch.
Strength:

Back Squat
5 – 5 – 5 – 5 – 5
95# – 115# – 135# – 155# – 185#
This felt pretty good. My right knee felt a little unsteady in the beginning but I think that was more an issue of confidence – not any structural concerns.

Combo: 12 Minutes

Sandbag Run 200m
Sloth Traverse – Four Bars
Wall Climb
7 KB Roll Back / Get Ups
Walk on All Fours

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

