Skip to content

August Blues

August 25, 2011

Now that August is here it is the sad sign of the impending end to my summer vacation. This summer has felt kind of weird. I have worked quite a bit – over 16 hours moving into and setting up my new classroom, not to mention hours reading and planning for the year. But overall it is kickass getting to make your own schedule and have no real set plans. I’m going to miss it. It always feels so short. I haven’t workout out as much this summer as I was planning too. I’ve felt really lethargic the passed few weeks. I do have some goals I am working on, and feel that I will be able to develop a more consistent routine now that my work is so close to the gym.

Here is a sample of what I’ve been up to lately:

Thursday, August 11

Warm-Up
Skipping Practice
Snatch Progressions (including sotts press, pressing snatch balance)

Strength:Deck Power Clean
5 - 5 - 5 - 5 - 5
65# - 85# - 105# - 115# - 135#

Combo -For Time:
Run 400m
50 Double Unders
Run 400m
40 Double Unders
Run 400m
30 Double Unders
Run 400m
20 Double Unders
Time - 12min

Friday, August 19

Natural Movement:
Balance

Strength:
Muscle Snatch
5 -5 - 5 - 3 - 3
35# - 40# - 55# - 65# - 75#

Combo:
5 Times: (I used a pair of 12kg pro bells)
10 DblKB Floor Press
10 Dbl KB Bent-Over Row
10 Dbl KB Swings

Tuesday, August 23
Natural Movement:
2x:
10 Break the Coconut
10 Pullups
10 KB Swings
10 Pushups

Strength: 5x5 Superset
A1: Double KB Front Squat
A2: One-Arm KB Snatch (l,r)
Kettlebell loads - 12kg - 16kg - 16kg - 20kg

15 Minute Combo:
- Bar Traverse AND Get Over
- Tire Flip(s)
- Wall Climb with Sandbag on Shoulder
- Farmers Walk (24 kg bells)
- 10 Squat Thrusts

Thursday , August 25
Natural Movement:
Joint Mobility and Double Under Practice

Strength:
Front Squat
5 - 5 - 5 - 5
75#-95#-115#-135#

Combo: For time
77 Double Unders
66 Push-ups
55 ABMAT Sit ups
44 KB Swings (16kg bell)
33 Toes to Bar
22 Box Jumps (20")
11  Burpees
Time- 18min
2 Comments
  1. I know the feeling … lots of time to reflect in the summer (lots of stretching and yoga for me, personally) … but kind of regret not doing more. Meh, I see a lot more results with a rigid schedule…

  2. oh, and a lot …. I mean a LOT of rugby, too.

Leave a Reply

