Skip to content

Pork and Chicken With Peaches and Apples

September 2, 2011

This was a super easy and very yummy dinner. One of the yummiest of the season I would say. I am super thrilled because the last few times I have cooked pork tenderloin I thought it was boring.  In fact, this tenderloin sat in my freezer for quite sometime as I wasn’t really looking forward to eating it. Not this time!!! I was inspired by my Jamaican grandmother. She had a certain spice mix that she used to use on the Christmas turkey every year – even passed the tradition on to my mom who did it for years and years. Now it’s my turn, and I have found it not only tasty on turkey, but chicken, and pork as well. Here’s what I did:

Ingredients:

Pork Tenderloin (I can’t remember what size this was but it fit nicely on basically one half of my slowcooker)

1/4 Chicken (the chicken and the pork came from Stoddart Farms)

1 ripe peach (or 2 depending on how big or small they are) cut into thick wedges (maybe 1/6ths?)

1 apple (I used a spartan, I don’t really think it matters…), cut into wedges similar to the peaches – ofcourse no seeds or core.

1/4 of red onion cut into chunky cubes

Spice Rub:

1 tbsp paprika

1 tbsp ground black pepper

1 tbsp garlic powder

1tbsp sea salt

Vinegar (I used a combo of apple cider and some of my amazing Creten balsamic….oh my goodness!)

First I rinsed off the meat and placed it into the slow cooker. Then I took out a cup and measured out the spices into it. To the cup I added a 60-40 mix of the different vinegars (favouring the balsamic) to the spices, mixing them and getting them just wet enough to make a spreadable paste. I would say maybe 1/4 cup of vinegar total.

Next I used a brush and brushed on the spices to the meat – I sometimes rub the meat down with a little olive oil before I brush on my spices but I didn’t this time. I also thought about browning the tenderloin for a bit in a skillet, but I didn’t. Turns out I didn’t need to anyway as this turned out delish! I made sure I spiced up both sides of the meat.

Then I put in the onions and cut up peaches and apples. Overtop of this I added 2 cups of chicken broth and about 1/3rd of a cup of water. Put the lid on, turned on high and forgot about it from about 11am – 4pm (kidding). Periodically I would get out the turkey baster and make sure the juices spread their love all over the meat. At 4pm I turned the setting to warm and left it there until about 6-7pm when we finally ate dinner.

We served this with a bit of baked sweet potato and 1/2 cob of BBQ corn and it was amazing. My only regret was that I completely forgot to get out the camera. I know corn isn’t paleo but it is in season right now, and it brings back happy childhood memories of summertime and eating outside from our garden…. so there.

The picture above is actually pork tenderloin rubbed in the same spice mix, cooked the same way in the slow cooker, only I used italian pears and yellow plums instead of peaches and apples 🙂

One Comment
  1. Sarah Slocombe permalink

    Thanks for this! Been wanting to try cooking a hunk of meat in the slowcooker (turns out even I can only eat so much egg custard and I haven’t been feeling like chili 🙂 but didn’t know where to start.

Leave a Reply

