Skip to content

Back in the Saddle Again

September 28, 2011

Well, after my amazing first week back to school living the dream working, working out, spending time with Carl and Stella…and ofcourse 1 week after being exposed to all of those germy kids and I was hit with the worst cold ever. I was smart this time and got on my inhaler right away and was able to ward off it escalating into bronchitis. So after a couple of weeks I am finally feeling better. I’m up to my eye balls with school work but still trying to manage my stress my fufilling my physical activity needs.

I have been up to a little bit of activity since the cold. I went to a kettlebell workshop by Ken Whetham. It was excellent. He’s doing 2 more workshops and I can’t wait. It energized me to get back into picking it up. Add to that my friend Boris announcing the East York Kettlebell Club will be hosting a competition AND running some training clinics and I’m downright GIDDY!!! 🙂

Today’s Workout:

Natural Movement

Tonight I went to Strengthbox and I have to say I felt great! We did some mobility and then played on the play structure. I made it completely around the structure traversing with all 4’s for the first time which felt awesome. I was also able to pull myself up onto and over the bar today which I haven’t even attempted in a while. My lifts feel a little weak as I’m out of practice – I need to do more push movements. I feel out of balance where pull movements are dominating push movements.

 

Press

Reps         5  –  5  –  5  – 3  – 3

Weight   45#-60#-75#-85#-90#

This was moderately challenging. I should have done 95# but I was anticipating the combo and decided to save a little bit for that. Post-workout I feel it was a smart decision 🙂

Combo:

20 KB Snatches (10 per side) 16kg

20 pullups

16 KB Snatches (8 per side) 16kg

16 pullups

10 KB Snatches (5 per side) 16kg

10 pullups

The KB swings were the “easy” part of this workout. I was able to do them unbroken. The pullups on the other hand I had to break up. But still I am happy with a time of  7min25sec.

 

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

