Skip to content

Me Time

December 6, 2011

Plugging away at the kettlebell training. I have to say (knock on wood) so far I’ve been feeling pretty good. I’ve been a little gentle on myself to make sure I don’t do something stupid and injure myself. Normally when I have had a hiatus from training I feel so good I just launch into my old routine from exactly where I left off. I can usually sustain it for a couple of weeks and inevitably get either sick or injured (or both). Aaahh… the wisdom that comes with age. Only took me 39 years đŸ˜‰

This is what coach Boris had on the menu today:

Swings – 1hand switch
2min – 12kg – 1min per hand
2min – 16kg – 1min per hand
I took 1 min rest between sets
Cleans – 1arm
4min – 8kg – 2min per hand – 12RPM
4min – 12kg – 2min per hand – 12RPM
I took 2 minutes rest between sets
Press – 1arm
5min – 8kg – 2.5min per hand – 12RPM
5min – 8kg – 2.5min per hand – 12RPM

I took 2 minutes rest between sets.

The easiest part of this was definitely the cleans. I still hate swings  and stand by my comment that they are the brussel sprouts of the kettlebell world. The presses felt good. The second set felt easier then the first for some reason.  During the first set my should joint/anterior deltoid felt totally fatigued. So the second set I made more of an effort to engage my lats to help stabilize my shoulder which might be why it felt easier.

After my kettlebell workout I did the Strengthbox 4:30pm class. Here is what was on the menu there:

Warm-up:
2x
10 Overhead Squats
10 Situps
10 Back Extensions
10 Pullups
10 Ring Dips

Strength:
Front Squat
5 reps @ 65#, 80#, 90#, 105# and 120#

I went light today but probably only had 15# left.  Trying to be smart and decided to hold back and focus on my form. Definitely a good decision.

Combo:
5 Sets of:
4 Hurdle Hops (used lebert bar)
10 Hand Release Pushups
10 Pullups

Today’s workout wasn’t for time so I probably could have done 2 more sets but I was worried about the impact on my shoulder from all of the pullups after already doing 40 minutes of kettlebell work so I played it safe.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

