Skip to content

Sunchokes and Headaches

January 4, 2012

Ask any of my friends and they will tell you – I’m not a drinker. Alcohol is not my friend so there is never a worry that I would over indulge in those kind of empty calories. Like every young adult I did have my stupid moments when I thought alcohol was fun and overindulged to the point of hugging the porcelain throne  begging forgiveness… vowing to never make myself feel that way again. Funnily enough it worked. Like an abusive boyfriend it didn’t take too many beatings to figure out that it wasn’t for me.

I wish the same could be said with my relationship with carbohydrates. They make me feel horrible about myself – bloating, weight gain, skin blemishes….also irritable, moody, an emotional basket case. And yet… I keep going back, time and time again.  This holiday has been a little ridiculous. In the words of Clifton I have been a complete “asshole” with foods I know I should be avoiding. So I have given myself an intervention and decided to try the Whole 30 as well as further commit myself to getting back on the paleo wagon. Today is Day 3 and I’m really paying for my holiday binging. I’ve had a headache all day and I have had mad mad cravings to deal with. I’m fully stalked on herbal teas and have been drinking tons of water in hopes of helping the headache.

On the positive side getting back to paleo feels awesome. I really am at my best when I am gluten/sugar /dairy free. For Christmas I received 2 cookbooks – “Paleo Comfort Foods” by Julie & Charles Mayfield  and “Make It Paleo” by Bill Staley and Hayley Mason. It’s been fun looking at people’s variations to some of my favourite foods.

Another helpful tool to keeping me on the paleo wagon has been our  organic produce delivery (which we canceled for the past 2 weeks). Every Tuesday we get a bundle of amazing organic, relatively local (within North America) produce from Mamma Earth Organics.  You can even customize your account so that you can never receive potatoes or legumes. One of the things I love the most (besides the awesome quality, convenience of delivery, reasonable price,  support of local farmers) is the variety. Every week is different and they are very creative with their choices. It has made me try things I would never even think of trying. And I’ve learned about vegetables I had no idea existed! In our latest order we received some sunchokes. Sorry for the long rant but here’s what I did with them:

We BBQ ‘d a Grass Fed Beef Sirloin Tip Steak (we used a olive oil, a splash of tamari, salt, pepper, garlic powder and chili powder for seasoning).

Sauteed Bok Choy – in a skillet with a couple of table spoons of beef broth, a table spoon of EVOO, and a splash of tamari.

Roasted Sunchokes – I peeled them first and put in a re-sealable container with EVOO, rosemary, garlic, and ground black pepper and some sea salt. Shook the container until all the sunchokes were covered and then placed on a baking sheet. We roasted them for about 30 minutes at 350 until they were soft  on the inside and golden brown on the outside.

Very yummy. I would definitely eat sunchokes again. Only 27 days to go! 🙂

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

