Skip to content

Homemade Thai Food Time

January 5, 2012

I used to LOVE peanut satay! The creamy, tangy, sweet taste of peanut sauce just warmed my heart until I learned about the terror of Legumes! So when I was reading my new cookbook Paleo Comfort Foods by Julie and Charles Mayfield I was thrilled when I came across their Not Peanut Sauce recipe. It had everything I was looking for, and I still managed to make it compliant with my Whole 30 by not adding the optional honey suggested in the recipe.

I then let this sauce cool and prepared the following:

1/2 head of organic green cabbage shredded

1 cup of sliced green, red and yellow peppers

2 small carrots sliced and diced

10 ounce of boneless chicken breast diced into bite sized pieces

Heated on medium  in a skillet with 1tbsp of coconut oil and a little bit of water the chicken was sauteed until it was mostly cooked. Then the vegetables were added. I cooked on medium for a few minutes being careful not to collect too much steam and have too much excess liquid.

To the vegetable and chicken mix I then stirred in about 1/2 cup of the Not Peanut Sauce. Cook until veggies are done but not too soggy!! I made sure once the sauce was added to cook with the lid off to allow any excess liquid to evaporate and it helped the sauce thicken.

I’m not revealing the contents of the Not Peanut Sauce. You will just have to go and buy the cookbook and find out!

A warm, hearty comfort meal.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

