Skip to content

Did Rocky Balboa Ever Get Colds?

January 10, 2012

Here it is the first week back to school and to me asserting fitness in my life and not being job-dominated…and I get sick. At first it seemed related to the 21 Day Sugar Detox I am on (Day 8), then I thought it was allergies…..but nope. It’s a good old fashion cold. It still sucks, and is zapping my energy.

But ofcourse I’m a Dell and we don’t let little things like colds get  in our way. I have goals to go after.

I was back in touch with my friend and owner of Crossfit Wollongong to hook me back up with the Push-Pull Challenge that I did last year. Well leave it to my friend Deanne to make a new and improved version. Here’s what I’m up to the next 4 -8 weeks (I’m considering doing it twice to prep for the Tactical Strength Challenge).

 

HOUSE OF CYN PUSH-PULL CHALLENGE 2012 (courtesy of Crossfit Wollongong)

 

Pushups/Pullups Pushups/Pull-ups Push-ups/Pullups Push-ups/pullups
Monday  = 38/12 Monday  = 15/35 Monday  = 22/38 Monday  = 11/39
Tuesday = 31/19 Tuesday =   19/31 Tuesday = 25/25 Tuesday = 9/41
Wednesday  =  25/25 Wednesday  = 28/32 Wednesday  = 27/33 Wednesday  = 35/15
Thursday   = 16/34 Thursday   =  44/6 Thursday   = 10/40 Thursday   = 32/18
Friday  =  9/44 Friday  = 9 / 41 Friday  = 37/13 Friday  = 21/39
Saturday =  60 push ups Saturday = 70 push ups Saturday = 80 push ups Saturday = 45 push ups
Sunday =  rest Sunday = rest Sunday = rest Sunday = rest
Total  = 179push/134 pull Total  = 185push/145 pull Total  = 201push/149 pull Total  =153push/152 pull

 

 

 

  Pushups Pull-ups
Monday Standard pushup from toes (chin/chest/thighs touch) Strict (no kipping)
Tuesday Standard pushup from toes Loaded Pullups *
Wednesday Ring pushups Kipping pullups
Thursday Alternate weekly- decline/hspu Kipping pullups
Friday Standard pushup from toes Chinups
Saturday AMRAP first, then broken as needed  

*I don’t have loaded pull-ups so as a progression I am using a 20# dumbbell load and a high box and working on the negative of the pullup. Right now just from the chin over the bar but I would like to work on negatives from chest over bar.

I started week 1 on Monday. Cold or no cold, I refuse to miss a day. The last time I did this and had perfect completion I pulled a 315# deadlift. I’d like to be able to pull that at the Tactical Strength Challenge. My pullups are my weakness which is why I want to focus on them the next few months.

My cold did not stop me from going to Strengthbox tonight for a little conditioning workout:

Natural Movement – Precision jumping and landing

Strength – Ring dips 5-5-5-5-5

This was supposed to be max effort sets. I was a little lazy and just did 5 sets of 5 because my arms were fatigued from the loaded pullups.

Combo:

Row 1000m

10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1

Body Rows (using Lebert bar)

Dumbbell push press (25#)

Row 1000m

It felt good to sweat, and enjoy a good epsom salt soak. Only tomorrow will tell how my cold really felt about me taking part in that. Fingers crossed it was helpful! 🙂

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

