Skip to content

Feelin’ Fine

January 13, 2012

I feel amazing today! I am on Day 11 of the 21DSD. I managed to turn down what had started (as of September) to become a weekly treat on Fridays to go for some serious good old fashion Jamaican home cooking. There’s a great little spot on Victoria Park just north of St.Clair east. You wouldn’t even notice it. This tiny little Jamaican woman runs  little shop and makes the best food ever. It was a non-paleo indulgence I allowed myself. I didn’t really go every Friday but I would say twice a month for sure. I really wanted to go today but was able to stay strong.

Carl and I are doing a great job at creating meals based on the contents of our  weekly produce box from Mamma Earth. We have lots of meat left from our grassfed beef share, plus we found a great little butcher shop near us that sells nitrate-free deli meats, and antibiotic/hormone free meats. It really hasn’t seemed like that big a deal to make our own meals.

I’m also feeling awesome because this week I felt like crap. I had a bad head cold for most of the week but I didn’t let it stop me from working out… and it didn’t make things worse. Five days later and I feel awesome. The cold is basically gone.

Today  I went to Strengthbox for a workout. I had wanted to go yesterday but it rained all day and I stayed home from work to rest up from my cold. I should also add I haven’t missed a day on my push-pull challenge. Speaking of pull… holy crap! There was enough of it today:

Alternated:

10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 Ring dips (used thin red band)

1-2-3-4-5-6-7-8-9-10 Dead hang pullups (I did 44 reps as chinups to meet my quota for the push pull challenge and then the rest as pullups. I managed 18 chinups unassisted and did the rest assisted with thin red band.)

Rest (2-3 minutes: basically the length of time it took me to get the equipment together that I needed for the next part.

10-9-8-7-6-5-4-3-2-1 Back Squats (95#)

1-2-3-4-5-6-7-8-9-10 Kettlebell Swings (16kg)

Great workout. Real whole body knock out! 🙂 Definitely an epsom salt bath in my future! 🙂

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

