Skip to content

Tree House Dwellings Part 3

January 23, 2012

On the home stretch of the Whole 30! And I am proud to announce that I made it this far!  I wasn’t sure that I had it in me to make it but the crappiness was very short-term. I’m actually very surprised at this because I had just come off of a very gluttonous Christmas. But I just felt increasingly better with each passing day that it never really crossed my mind to cheat because why would I jeopardize feeling awesome? I feel like some switches were turned on (or in some cases off) in terms of my carb addiction. I’m a little worried that one timbit or piece of candy is going to launch me into a death spiral of white death intoxication…I’m sort of glad I’m feeling this way because I think it will help me put things into perspective and be less of an “asshole” with certain foods, as Clifton would say.

At any rate, on the last day of the weekend it was great to sleep in and wake up  and make an amazing breakfast. The only thing missing is clearly bacon. I needed some protein with this as I was hungry an hour or 2 later…mental note for next time. This was yummy though…. and so easy to make. I altered the recipe only slightly by eliminating the called for sweetners (agave syrup – no way!). I replaced with vanilla extract and they still turned out awesome.

I found this recipe from the Civilized Caveman (serves 4, I halfed it to serve 2 and it made 10 very cute silver dollar-ish pancakes):

Ingredients:

  • 6 eggs
  • 6 Tbsp Coconut Milk
  • 1/2 Tsp Sea Salt
  • 8 Tbsp Coconut Flour
  • 1/2 Tsp Organic vanilla extract
  • Coconut oil to grease pan

Steps:

  1. Combine all the above ingredients in a medium mixing bowl
  2. Make sure you beat them until there are no lumps, you can do this by hand with a whisk.
  3. Preheat a griddle or pan with coconut oil to about 350 degrees or a medium heat on a burner no different then you would cook a regular pancake
  4. Spoon the batter on your pan to the desired size you would like
  5. They won’t bubble on the top like traditional pancakes but should take about 3-4 minutes per side, you can do the spatula test and see how well it slides under.
  6. Once they are complete, plate and serve with the Mango-Strawberry syrup (see below)
  7. Enjoy

Mango-Strawberry syrup:

Ingredients:

Frozen strawberries and mangoes.

Tsp organic vanilla extract

You choose the amount based on how much you want, or if you will use the puree for something else. I used just enough water with the frozen fruit to make a thick paste and then put it into the sauce pan.

Steps:

  1. Place frozen fruit in your food processor or blender and chop them up nicely.
  2. Combine those with the 1/4 – 1/2 Cup of water in a sauce pan and bring to a boil.  Continue to stir often so the fruit will not bubble over the pan.
  3. Once you have boiled the fruit until it is nice and soft after about 5- 10 minutes, turn the heat down to low.
  4. I found that a lot of liquid boiled off and the berries just naturally thickened a bit into a sauce.
  5. Continue to let your syrup simmer until you are done cooking your pancakes and ready to serve, or you can cool it off and use it cold.
  6. Serve with the coconut cakes and enjoy
Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

