Skip to content

Progress Report

March 1, 2012

For the last 6 weeks I have been training for life really…but along the way I might be planning to participate in the Agatsu Canadian Kettlebell Sport Championships, and the Tactical Strength challenge. I have to say it’s been fun. The strength I am gaining is really helping out my Movnat skills.

In order to get back in my deadlift game I’ve been working using Wendler’s programming. Here are my numbers from the last few weeks:

Cycle #1

Week 1 (Jan 16) – 5 reps @ 125#, 155#, 180#, 205#, 230#

Week 2 (Jan 23) – 5 reps @ 125#, 155#, 3 reps @  190#, 220#, 245#

Week 3 (Jan 30) – 5 reps @ 125#, 155#, 205#, 3 reps @ 230#, 1 rep @ 260#

Week 4 (Feb 6) – This was supposed to be a deloading week but I went to Strengthbox and did a combo with 15 reps of deadlift @ 225#

(Feb 13) This week sucked and I took it off due to bronchitis.

Cycle #2

Week 1 (Feb 21) – 5 reps @ 125#, 155#, 190#, 220#, 250# (fail – only did 2 reps)

Week 2 (Feb 28) – 5 reps @ 125#, 155#, 3 reps @ 205#, 235#, 265#

I did it! I did it! I was really worried I wouldn’t hit 265# seeing as I couldn’t do 5 reps @ 250# last week. But instead of dead lifting alone I had my friend Katy and the Strengthbox crew to support me.

Today there was a great Movnat- style workout happening at Strengthbox. I had tons of fun today. It is such a great stress reliever after the challenging behaviour I have to deal with all day! Thank you Greg!

Natural Movement:
Ground work
Foam Roll Hamstrings
Few sets of: 10 Back Extensions and 10 Situps
Max Plank Hold – 5 minutes (gym record for the day)

Combo: 15 Minutes
10 Hook Leg Over Bar (switch legs each time) -used the swinging suspended log                                                             Wall Climb
Balance Beams Walk (forward, backward, bear walk, inch worms, closed eyes, squats, turns and low walk are some of the skills I tried each pass on the beam)
10 Box Jumps (24″ box) – ninja landings
10 Ring  Pushups

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

