Skip to content

AM Burn

April 18, 2012

I’ve heard and read from people much smarter than me that if fat loss is your aim, working out in the morning is the best time to train. Although I hope to reap some of the rewards of this, my new attempt at a 6am routine is more about time management and the buddy system 🙂 My friend Katy has moved into my hood and having that increased accountability definitely keeps me motivated. Her and I have committed to hitting Strengthbox 3+ times a week. I have really enjoyed finishing the work day knowing I could just go home, instead of trying to muster up the energy to train after an exhausting day of work. On the days I have trained in the morning, I’ve actually felt more energized at the end of the day when I leave work.

Today was awesome in the gym. I initially felt barfy. But then I got  there, warmed up and wound up feeling amazing. I’m pretty sure I set a P.R for my 3 rep max in bench press. I think I could have doe 5 – 10#.

Warmup:
Mobility, then
2x
15 Pushups
15 Situps
15 Back Extensions
15 Bench Dips
15 Ring Rows

Strength:
Bench Press
5 – 5 – 3 – 3 – 3

75# – 95# – 115# – 125# – 135#

Combo:
5 Intervals** of:

9 Barbell Thrusters (#65)
9 Pull ups

**Rest 1:00 between rounds

This felt awesome. I did all reps in each interval unbroken, no problem.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

