Skip to content

Stage 4.5

May 4, 2012

Now that I’m on a short break from kettlebell…. I miss it. I don’t really feel like I need to take any time off from training so for the most part I have been trying to maintain my routine, although I took a couple of extra days off to prepare for the Tactical Strength Challenge on the weekend.

These were the workouts I was up to this week:

Tuesday, May 1st

Warmup:

Foam Rolling
Mobility
Animal Walks
Scorpion Progressions

Strength:

20 Back Squats @ 70% of 5RM
* Warmup with a few light, then moderate weighted sets of 5 reps, take a break, then attempt 20 full back squats. As prescribed, you can rest between reps but the bar should remain on your back until you finish. Warning: this routine has been called a ‘widow maker’.

**I should have lifted between 125# – 135# but instead went with 100#. I was nervous going into the unknown today and didn’t want to risk anything stupid before the weekend. I would like to try this workout again sometime and go for a heavier load.

Cash-Out:
1 Minute Double Unders – these felt awesome, did 60 unbroken not sure how many in total
1 Minute Pulllups
1 Minute KB Swings (20kg)
1 Minute Situps

 

Wednesday, May 2nd

Warmup:
Foam Roller
Mobility
Throw and Catching

Strength:
Hang Power Snatch
5 – 5 – 5 – 5 – 5
35# – 45# – 55# – 65# (was a little too chatty this morning and didn’t have time for a last set).

 Combo:
10 Box Jumps (24″)
10 Jumping Pull-ups (on climbing structure)
10 KB Swings (20kg)
10 Alternating Reverse Lunge (5/side)
10 Knees to Elbow
10 Dumbbell Push Press (35lbs)
10 Atomic Situps
10 Dumbbell Thrusters (35lbs)
10 Burpees
10 Box Jumps (24″)

I didn’t record my time but I would guess between 5 – 7 minutes. It felt pretty awesome. The thrusters were the worst part 😉

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

