Skip to content

I Love Supersets

December 31, 2012

Life of a Teacher

Well, this holiday of 2012 has sucked. I didn’t get to see any family, I didn’t get to eat a Christmas dinner, and I didn’t get to play in the fresh new snow. Nope. I had the flu. Boy was it fun (hopefully you can read my bleeding sarcasm). Now that my holidays are half over I am finally feeling like a human being again. I did a kettlebell training session on Friday, December 29th for the first time in a week and it felt amazing. I was depressed that the weekend came because it means waiting another 2 days until Jason sends me my next workout. So even though I don’t normally like to lift 2 days in a row, today I was feeling a bit stir crazy and decided to go to StrengthBox to burn off the insanity. I’m so glad I did. Today’s workout was the perfect combination of strength and conditioning and was challenging but won’t leave me feeling too beat down tomorrow. What was so great about this workout was that I hadn’t done one like it for quite some time, and I could really feel the difference my kettlebell training has made to my absolute strength. Here’s what I did:

Warm-Up

Baby rolls – leading arms only and then legs only, prone and supine positions

– supine position, press kettlebell to lockout position, lead with the leg and roll to the other side while maintaining eye contact on the kettlebell and keeping the lockout. Armpit of opposite side should be in constant contact with the floor (you will feel maximal stretch in pecs which is awesome). Keep rolling with the intention of getting square hips and both pecs touching the floor.

Hand stand holds – 3 min total

 

Workout

SuperSets – 5 sets of 6 reps. Complete 6 reps of first movement and immediately complete 6 reps of the second movement and THEN rest. Repeat for a total of 5 sets.

A1. Double Kettlebell Clean and Press

A2. Renegade Rows

8kg, 12kg, 16kg, 20kg, 20kg

 

B1. Back Squat – 95#, 115#, 135#, 155#, 175#

B2. Double Kettlebell Swings – 12kg, 16kg, 20kg, 24kg, 24kg

 

Finisher – 5 Barbell Turkish Get-ups per arm

O.k… I bailed on this. I did 3 reps per arm using a 35# empty bar. My arms were fried from everything else so instead I followed up with 2 TGU’s using 30# water bag.

Overall super fun. I was most excited about the squats. My right knee clicked a few times but no pain. My legs actually felt pretty strong and I think I could have tried more than 175# had it not been in a superset.

 

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

