Skip to content

House of Cyn Certification

June 29, 2013

1014593_10151427252161651_1848635173_o

I’m a hoarder of information. I love collecting ideas. I read them, mull over them, and eventually act on them. This is pretty much how my teaching career has gone anyway. I have book shelves exploding with books. Unfortunately too many of them have never been read. I just can’t keep up with giving them the attention they deserve, at the rate I seem to be able to collect them. This pattern of behaviour is crossing over into my kettlebell sport training. I’m surrounded by amazing lifters with awesome ideas as to how to improve performance/health and movement efficiency. I’ve started collecting a bunch of resources for my “library” based on their recommendations and before I knew it I had accumulated a pile of books, manuals and videos that I had not yet taken the time to explore. Now that summer holidays are here – NOW is the time!! For the month of July I am going to be very centered on my training for the competition in August. Everything I do is going to somehow benefit that event. So I decided it was time to go through some of my resources, be exposed to new ideas and try new things.

The beautiful autistic side of me has created a schedule for my first official week of holidays. I’m going back to school and can be found either at home or the beach or a park soaking up information. To some it may seem like a strange way to spend a holiday but I’m really looking forward to this. I have many resources to get through and I’m not expecting to get it done in one week. My plan is to spend a little bit of time with each resource I want to research. At the end of the week I will take an inventory of how much I was able to get through, and what I am interested in really pursing more in depth. Then I will make a new schedule for the following week. The only thing that won’t change is my kettlebell workouts, or “practice” as I like to refer to it.

One other change starting next week is I will be switching from 3 days of kettle practice to 4 days a week. I had to practically beg my coach to let me try this…he is naturally reluctant because he’s kinda over-protective and because I have been kicking ass at 3 days a week. This is something I just want to experiment with for the month of July. July is my most stress free month, and I have the most amount of time to dedicate to my training. If there is a possible benefit to be received from it, I think it is more likely to happen now. If it turns out to be a bad idea there is still plenty of time to recover before August.

Here’s my week 1 plan:

Mon-   July 1 Tues –    July 2 Wed –  July 3 Thur – July 4 Fri –  July 5 Sat – July 6
9:00 – 11:00amKettle Practice 9:00 – 11:00amZ-Health Neural Warmup 9:00 – 11:00amKettle Practice 9:00 – 11:00amKettle Practice 9:00 – 11:00amZ-Health Neural Warmup 10 – NoonTeach at StrengthBox

Noon – LUNCH

1:00 – 3:00pmSupple Leopard 1:00 – 3:00pmConvict Conditioning (Handstands) 1:00 – 3:00pmSupple Leopard 1:00 – 3:00pmSupple Leopard 1:00 – 3:00pmConvict Conditioning (Bridging) Noon – 2pmKettle Practice
3:00 – 5:00pmHRV/ Maffetone 3:00 – 5:00pmHRV/ Maffetone 3:00 – 5:00pmHRV/ Maffetone 3:00 – 5:00pmBook of 5 Rings
Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

