Skip to content

Beautiful Breakfasts

July 5, 2013

Poached Eggs Kale Oranges

When I first embraced a more paleo lifestyle I found breakfast to be the most challenging meal. Now it is one of my favourites because anything goes! One of my favourite breakfast dishes that is so simple and easy are poached eggs, steamed greens (kale, chard, or spinach) which I usually drizzle with olive oil or coconut oil, and serve with a bit of fruit.

1003122_10151452005021651_216471396_n

One of my other favourite breakfast dishes is a salad I usually have for lunch….but really it’s great any time!

Chicken Waldorf Salad

1 cup of cooked diced chicken

¼ cup tart apple, cored and diced

½ cup chopped celery

2 T chopped walnuts

½  Avocado (mash with lime juice to mayo-like consistency)

1 teaspoon lime juice

Black pepper

In a medium size bowl, combine chicken, apple, celery and walnuts. In a small bowl, combine avocado/lime juice mixture; stir to blend well. Season to taste. Spoon dressing over chicken salad and toss to coat.

Chicken Waldorf Salad

Finally, I have to admit that my life isn’t always as insanely organized as I make it appear to be 🙂 Many times my meals are just assemblances of whatever protein, fat and carb I can find in the house. Often leftovers from previous lunches or dinners become the next day’s breakfast. This picture below of salmon steak, strawberries and cucumber is a perfect example, but filling and put together in under a minute!

Breakfast Leftovers - Salmon Strawberries cucumber

On a side note I would like to add that all of these meals were prepared without a kitchen. The eggs were poached and veggies steamed in the microwave, the chicken for the waldorf salad was bbq’d as was the salmon steak. No excuses people! No excuses! 🙂

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

