Skip to content

No Excuses

October 6, 2014

1233117_10151559628911651_488834350_oIMG_00000381

I was sure I had already posted a blog about this, but since I cannot seem to find it I am going to take the risk and post what I should have about a year ago 🙂

Last year Carl and I decided to embark on some pretty major home renovations. This included a new kitchen. Ofcourse the project you think will take a month takes 4…and maybe still has some incomplete elements a year later…at any rate, going that long without a kitchen almost drove me insane. I was completely stressed out about what I would eat and how I would maintain my weight for competition. Turns out it wasn’t thaaaaat bad 🙂 One awesome feature to our renovation was getting a gas line outside so that we could bbq hassle free 🙂 It was basically like having an outdoor oven and stove. I also had to overcome my apprehension toward bbqing…definitely a growth experience 🙂

I found breakfast time to be the toughest. Microwaved egg variations on a paper plate became my instagram theme for quite some time. Then with the help of my friend and nutritionist, Summer Innanen I was able to awaken some creativity and breakfast kabobs were born.

Houseofcyn Breakfast Kabob 1

11696435_10152868192531651_4032615185412980636_o

chicken

cherry tomatoes

green pepper

pineapple

Marinade: pineapple juice, olive oil, sriracha, cinnamon

Houseofcyn Breakfast Kabob 2

11707671_10152861321241651_1825077132216890704_o

sausage

green apple

cauliflower

dates

Marinade: coconut milk, curry, cinnamon

It was so easy to whip up a batch of these. They also made great snacks. I think this will easily become a new food genre. 🙂

2 Comments
  1. barry permalink

    Hi Cynthia it’s barry Isaiah and Skye’s father from deer park. I meed your help to get started with the bells. You’ve inspired me! Give me a shout. Cheers

Leave a Reply

