Skip to content

Recipes By Request

September 20, 2015

I like to photograph my meals as a visual idea bank. Looking at a photo is all I need to remember the recipe and steps I took to prepare a meal, or remind me which cookbook it came from. The down side with posting them publicly is that then people want the recipe. Lol!!! I don’t mind sharing, I’m just too lazy to write/ type it out. So here I will post a few things I have made recently that are slight variations on recipes I found from others.  They are so easy they definitely occur in my regular rotation. What I love most about them is their simplicity. It’s fantastic when you can make something yummy without it taking up a huge amount of time.


1. Meatza

image

This recipe is a simplified version of the one from Diane Sanfilippo’s Book, The 21 Day Sugar Detox.

Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit

For the Crust:

1lb grass fed groundbeef

1tbsp coconut flour (almond flour was what Diane’s recipe called for)

1 egg beaten

1tsp granulated garlic

1tsp ground black pepper

2tsp Italian seasoning

1tsp Himalayan sea salt

To make the crust combine the above ingredients in a mixing bowl. I used a plastic ziplock bag so I could mix with my hands without them getting messy. Mix thoroughly and form into a ball. On a parchment lined baking sheet roll out the meat dough into a circle about 8-9inches wide and 1/4 inch thick.  Bake for 15-20min or until cooked through. Remove from oven and set aside. Increase oven temperature to 425.

For the Toppings:

Do whatever you like!

I used :

2tbsp tomato sauce (pesto would be awesome too)

3 roasted garlic cloves

1/2 green bell pepper

1/2 red bell pepper

1 small tomato sliced

6 spinach leaves

1-2g Sharp aged cheddar (optional- leave out if you’re paleo)

I prepped the toppings while the crust was doing it’s thing. Once it was out of the oven and cool enough to go near, I put on toppings and then baked in the oven for another 5-10min until the toppings soften just a bit.

2. Sweet Potato Buffalo Chicken Caserole

11169890_10152720750676651_3977211521818904257_n

I hear the word caserole and I am in! A meal in a bowl! A bit of work to prep but then always keeps on giving in the servings you get. This recipe is so dead simple its a no brainer. Best part is I can just post the link from the fine folks at Preppy Paleo. No recipe for me to type out! Lol!

3. Rogan Josh

10582752_10152198175316651_5496055277944363870_o

This picture doesn’t do it justice but this meal is so comforting! I love it so much. From Melissa Joulwan’s book “Well Fed” I can once again be lazy and post the recipe from her blog. I like to serve this on cauliflower rice. There are a few different ways I like to make my cauliflower rice. Usually I will zap a head of cauliflower in my food processor until it is rice consistency. Then I will put it on a parchment lined baking sheet and drizzle with olive oil, and ground black pepper, maybe a sprinkle of sea salt.

4. Spaghetti

11717403_10152856079411651_7915118827646734815_o

It has been years now since I have replaced grain pastas with vegetables. Spaghetti squash is my usual “noodle” but lately we have loved our veggie spiralizer and love making zucchini noodles. I still use the same sauce from Diane Sanfillipo’s book “Practical Paleo.”

Most of my food ideas weren’t original ideas of mine….I just saw something someone else did and wasn’t afraid to try it. Pinterest just blows my mind. I’ve only just begun to tap into it. When I take a picture of a healthy meal I made I throw it in my Eat Like A Champ photo album and the ideas grow. It reminds me that I can do it if I take the time to care about the way I’m fueling my body.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

