Skip to content

Fish Tacos

March 1, 2017

17022422_10154175857311651_951784566959163544_n

Last night I made fish tacos for the first time. They turned out magnificently. For the last several years now I have photographed many of the meals I make at home. It was the beginning of my healthy food journey and the attempt to end an excuse I used to use for poor food choices – “I don’t know what to make.” When I made a healthy meal I enjoyed, I photographed it, and soon became a catalogue of delicious healthy meals I love, and therefore no more excuses. I used to think taking the picture was enough. That I would see it and magically remember how I prepared the meal. I was so naive. Lol.

I’ve since realized I really need to copy this shit down. I’m not getting any younger, haha, so better to record this stuff as soon as I remember. That way the general public also has the option of trying too, if they want. 🙂

I used hard corn tortilla shells I bought at the grocery store. Judge away, they were yummy and are very low on the asshole scale (imo). I used a shredded cabbage/kale/lettuce mix as the first layer in the taco. On top of that I placed warm, baked tilapia fillet chopped into pieces (preparation described below). On top of the fish I added some sliced avocado, and finally topped it off with pineapple-mango salsa. Did I mention it was awesome?

fb_img_1488425147919

Baked Tilapia

Preheat oven to 375

Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Place tilapia fillets on parchment paper and brush both sides with olive oil. Sprinkle both sides with chilli powder, Montreal steak and chop spice mix. I brushed a bit of chipotle aoili, and squeezed one lemon on top before putting in the oven.

20170301_212555

Thanks to Alex and Dave Preston for the Montreal steak and chop spice mix. I never would have thought of putting it on fish and was just being uncharacteristically impulsive. Lol. Paid off huge. Fish was sooooooo tasty!!!

Bake for 15-20minutes until fish is opaque and flakes easily with a fork.

16864678_10154175516881651_5351426464207095416_n.jpg

Pineapple- Mango Salsa

1/3 cup of cubed mango

1/3 cup of small pineapple chunks

1/2 red pepper diced

10-12 cherry tomatoes quartered

smallish hunk of red onion finely diced

fresh cilantro (to taste)

dressing – juice of 1 squeezed lemon, 1tbsp coconut aminos, tsp of sriracha (or use cayenne pepper to taste)

Mix all of the ingredients in a bowl. Longer the flavours marinate the better. Stores well in fridge for several days.

17022198_10154175857331651_2314223981500999354_n

Assembly:

We baked the taco shells in the oven for about 5-7min at 350. Then we took them out and sprinkled a layer of our coleslaw/kale/lettuce mix, on top of this we added the baked fish while it was nice and warm, on top of the fish we added some sliced avocado and topped it all off with the mango-pineapple salsa that barely fit!! Lol. It was delightfully awesome! Defintely making it again and needed to record what I did for when I forget! Lol.

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

